

## The Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists congratulates the 1985 Actra Award winners

John Drainie Award for Distinguished Contribution to Broadcasting FRED DIEHL

> Earle Grey Award for Best Acting Performance in Television in a Leading Role - Male DOUGLAS RAIN - "A FLUSH OF TORIES

Earle Grey Award for Best Acting Performance in Television in a Leading Role – Female SUSAN WRIGHT – "SLIM OBSESSION" ("FOR THE RECORD")

> Andrew Allan Award for Best Acting Performance in Radio – Male NORMAN BROWNING – "SWEET SECOND SUMMER OF KITTY MALONE"

Jane Mallett Award for Best Acting Performance in Radio – Female CHARMION KING – "JESSIE'S STORY"

> Gordon Sinclair Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism – Radio or Television HANA GARTNER – "VENGEANCE IS MINE"

> ("THE FIFTH ESTATE")
> ERIC MALLING – "ITS OWN GOOD NAME"
> ("THE FIFTH ESTATE")

Foster Hewitt Award for Excellence in Sports Broadcasting SUE PRESTEDGE

Best Acting Performance in a Supporting Role in Television GARRICK HAGON – "ROUGH JUSTICE" ("FOR THE RECORD")

Best Acting Performance in a Continuing Role in Television TONY VAN BRIDGE – "JUDGE"

Best Variety Performance in Television EVELYN HART – "ROMEO AND JULIET Best Variety Performance in Radio MARY LOU FALLIS – "PRIMADONNA"

Best Host/Interviewer – Television (Entertainment Program) DAVID SUZUKI – "FUTURESCAN"

> Best Host/Interviewer – Radio (Entertainment Program) PETER GZOWSKI – "MORNINGSIDE"

Best Writer – Television Variety LAURA PHILLIPS – "A FRIEND IN NEED" ("FRAGGLE ROCK")

Best Writer – Radio Variety
ROGER ABBOTT, DAVE BROADFOOT,
DON FERGUSON, GORD HOLTAM, JOHN MORGAN,
RICK OLSEN – "AIR FARCE"

Best Writer – Television
Documentary/Public Affairs
DONALD BRITTAIN – "SOMETHING TO CELEBRATE"

Best Writer – Radio Documentary/
Public Affairs

EDWARD TRAPUNSKI, GEORGE WOODCOCK –
"GEORGE ORWELL: A RADIO BIOGRAPHY"

Best Writer – Television Drama DON TRUCKEY "ROUGH JUSTICE" ("FOR THE RECORD")

Best Writer - Radio Drama STEVE PETCH - "THE ICE FOREST" ("SATURDAY STEREO THEATRE")

Best Children's Television Program
"THE BOY AND THE SNOW GOOSE" –
CBC/NFB, PRODUCED BY GAYLE THOMAS

Texaco Canada Award For Best Radio Program of the Year "GEORGE ORWELL: A RADIO BIOGRAPHY" – CBC, PRODUCED BY STEVE WADHAMS

> Best Television Program of the Year "CHAUTAUQUA GIRL" – CBC. PRODUCED BY JEANNINE LOCKE



We would like to thank Texaco Canada for sponsoring the 1985 ACTRA Awards. ACTRA

2239 Yonge Street Toronto, Ontario M4S 2B5 (416) 489-1311